What is the Apocrypha?

The Apocrypha is a collection of 13 books written after Malachi but before the New Testament.  It consists of many errors and contradictions, and it was never recognized by the Jewish people as God-breathed or inspired and therefore not included in their canon of scripture.  The Apocrypha can be used as a historical reference, but it cannot be used to add to Christian doctrine because of its errors and inaccuracies.